UKPSC Lower PCS 2026 notification in short
UKPSC has advertised 54 posts under the UKPSC Lower PCS 2026 exam (Advertisement No. A-1/E-2/DR/LSS/2026-27). The online form is open from 6 November to 26 November 2026. Any graduate aged 21 to 42 years on 1 July 2026 can apply. The prelims is proposed for 27 December 2026 in the UKPSC calendar.
Updated on 7 November 2026 by Samveg IAS · Source: UKPSC advertisement and notice dated 6 November 2026
The Uttarakhand Public Service Commission released the UKPSC Lower PCS notification 2026 on 6 November 2026. Officially, the exam is the Uttarakhand Combined State (Civil) Lower Subordinate Services Examination–2026. This year, the Commission has notified 54 vacancies across eight posts. In addition, Marketing Inspector (20) and Naib Tehsildar (13) have the most seats. Below, we explain every detail of the advertisement in plain words. So, read it once before you fill the form.
UKPSC Lower PCS notification 2026: key highlights
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Exam | Uttarakhand Combined State (Civil) Lower Subordinate Services Examination–2026 |
| Conducted by | Uttarakhand Public Service Commission (UKPSC), Haridwar |
| Advertisement No. | A-1/E-2/DR/LSS/2026-27 |
| Notice No. and date | 235/03/E-2/DR/LSS/2026-27, dated 6 November 2026 |
| Total vacancies | 54 (eight posts in six departments); the number may go up or down |
| Qualification | Graduation (agriculture graduation for the two cane posts) |
| Age limit | 21 to 42 years on 1 July 2026 |
| Application fee | ₹166.36 (General, OBC, EWS); ₹76.36 (SC, ST, PwD); nil for orphans in State homes |
| Selection | Prelims (objective) → Mains (descriptive) → Interview |
| Prelims date | 27 December 2026 (proposed in the UKPSC exam calendar; not stated in the advertisement) |
| Apply at | psc.uk.gov.in / pscuk.net.in |
Uttarakhand Lower PCS 2026 exam date and important dates
As per the UKPSC Lower PCS notification, the application window is only 20 days long. Therefore, apply early and do not wait for the last evening. After that, the correction window opens once, in December.
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Advertisement published / online form opens | 6 November 2026 |
| Last date to apply online | 26 November 2026 (till 11:59:59 PM) |
| Last date to pay the fee (Net Banking, Debit Card, Credit Card, UPI) | 26 November 2026 (till 11:59:59 PM) |
| Correction window opens | 3 December 2026 |
| Correction window closes | 12 December 2026 (till 11:59:59 PM) |
| Lower PCS Prelims 2026 | 27 December 2026 (proposed, UKPSC calendar of 1 September 2026) |
The advertisement itself does not give the Uttarakhand Lower PCS exam date. However, the UKPSC exam calendar proposes 27 December 2026. We will update this page as soon as the Commission confirms it.
UKPSC Lower PCS vacancy 2026: post-wise details
In total, the UKPSC Lower PCS notification 2026 lists 54 posts. Of these, 37 are unreserved, 6 are for SC, 2 for ST, 3 for OBC and 6 for EWS. Marketing Inspector has the most seats (20), followed by Naib Tehsildar (13).
| Post (department) | Total | UR | SC | ST | OBC | EWS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Naib Tehsildar Revenue | 13 | 10 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Excise Inspector Excise | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Supply Inspector Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Marketing Inspector Food, Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs | 20 | 15 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Labour Enforcement Officer Labour | 5 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Tax Officer, Zila Panchayat Panchayati Raj | 5 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Senior Cane Development Inspector Sugarcane Development and Sugar Industry | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cane Development Inspector Sugarcane Development and Sugar Industry | 4 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total | 54 | 37 | 6 | 2 | 3 | 6 |
Horizontal reservation within these posts
- Naib Tehsildar: Uttarakhand women 3 (UR); Uttarakhand Rajya Andolankari or dependants 1 (UR).
- Excise Inspector: Uttarakhand women 1 (UR).
- Marketing Inspector: Uttarakhand women 6 (UR 4, SC 1, EWS 1); ex-servicemen 1 (UR); orphans 1 (UR); Rajya Andolankari or dependants 2 (UR).
- Labour Enforcement Officer, Tax Officer (Zila Panchayat), Cane Development Inspector: Uttarakhand women 1 (UR) each.
- Supply Inspector, Senior Cane Development Inspector: no horizontal seat.
Lower PCS 2026 vs 2024: posts compared
The 2026 cycle is less than half the size of the last one. Lower PCS 2024 had 113 posts; this time there are 54. Moreover, Deputy Jailer and Khandsari Inspector are not in the 2026 list, while Tax Officer (Zila Panchayat) is new.
| Post | 2024 | 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Naib Tehsildar | 36 | 13 |
| Deputy Jailer | 14 | — |
| Supply Inspector | 36 | 2 |
| Marketing Inspector | 6 | 20 |
| Labour Enforcement Officer | 5 | 5 |
| Excise Inspector | 5 | 4 |
| Tax Officer, Zila Panchayat | — | 5 |
| Senior Cane Development Inspector | 2 | 1 |
| Cane Development Inspector | 6 | 4 |
| Khandsari Inspector | 3 | — |
| Total | 113 | 54 |
Similarly, each post is open only to some categories of persons with disabilities. Excise Inspector is not identified for any disability category. So, check the post-wise list in the advertisement before you apply.
Posts and salary in the UKPSC Lower PCS notification
According to the UKPSC Lower PCS notification, all eight are Group C non-gazetted posts with contributory pension. However, the pay depends on the post, as shown below.
| Post | Pay scale | Pay level |
|---|---|---|
| Naib Tehsildar | ₹44,900 – 1,42,400 | Level 7 |
| Excise Inspector | ₹44,900 – 1,42,400 | Level 7 |
| Supply Inspector | ₹35,400 – 1,12,400 | Level 6 |
| Marketing Inspector | ₹35,400 – 1,12,400 | Level 6 |
| Labour Enforcement Officer | ₹35,400 – 1,12,400 | Level 6 |
| Tax Officer, Zila Panchayat | ₹35,400 – 1,12,400 | Level 6 |
| Senior Cane Development Inspector | ₹35,400 – 1,12,400 | Level 6 |
| Cane Development Inspector | ₹29,200 – 92,300 | Level 5 |
Naib Tehsildar remains the top post of this exam. In fact, it carries the highest pay level along with Excise Inspector.
UKPSC Lower PCS eligibility 2026: qualification
Under the UKPSC Lower PCS notification 2026, a graduate degree is enough for six of the eight posts. However, the two cane posts need a degree in agriculture. Moreover, you must hold the qualification by the last date of the form, that is, 26 November 2026.
| Post | Essential qualification |
|---|---|
| Naib Tehsildar | Graduation from a university established by law in India, or an equivalent qualification |
| Excise Inspector | Graduation from a university established by law in India, or an equivalent degree; plus the physical standards below |
| Supply Inspector | Graduation from a recognised university, plus good knowledge of Hindi in Devanagari script |
| Marketing Inspector | Graduation from a recognised university, plus good knowledge of Hindi in Devanagari script |
| Labour Enforcement Officer | Graduation from a university established by law in India, or an equivalent degree |
| Tax Officer, Zila Panchayat | A degree from a university established by law in India, or an equivalent qualification |
| Senior Cane Development Inspector | Graduation in agriculture from a recognised university |
| Cane Development Inspector | Graduation in agriculture from a recognised university |
- Preference: other things being equal, candidates with two years in the Territorial Army or an NCC “B” certificate get preference. For some posts, an NCC “C” certificate also counts.
- Cane posts: a postgraduate degree in agricultural science also gets preference.
- Date of qualification: UKPSC goes only by the marksheet issue date or the result declaration date. So, enter that date correctly in the form.
Physical standards for Excise Inspector
| Standard | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|
| Height (General and other categories) | 167.6 cm | 152 cm |
| Height (Scheduled Castes) | 160 cm | 147 cm |
| Height (hill area candidates) | 162.6 cm | 147 cm |
| Chest (General and others) | 78.8 cm unexpanded; 83.8 cm expanded | — |
| Chest (SC and hill area) | 76.3 cm unexpanded; 81.3 cm expanded | — |
| Weight | — | 45 kg |
In addition, the chest of men must expand by at least 5 cm. Hill area candidates need a certificate in the format given in the advertisement.
Uttarakhand condition for Group C posts
Since these are Group C posts, you must meet at least one of the following conditions, whichever applies to you:
- You passed High School and Intermediate (or equivalent) from recognised institutions in Uttarakhand. There are exceptions, for example for wards of defence personnel and of central or state employees posted in Uttarakhand, and for permanent residents studying or working outside the State.
- Your name is registered with an employment office (sevayojan karyalaya) in Uttarakhand by 26 November 2026. Those already in Uttarakhand State government service do not need this registration.
- You are an ex-serviceman registered with a District Sainik Kalyan and Punarvas office in Uttarakhand. This counts as employment office registration.
In addition, you must be a citizen of India, or fall in the other nationality categories listed in the advertisement.
UKPSC Lower PCS age limit and relaxation
The age limit is 21 to 42 years on 1 July 2026. In other words, you must be born on or after 2 July 1984 and on or before 1 July 2005. Note that only the date of birth in your High School certificate counts.
| Category (Uttarakhand only) | Relaxation in upper age limit |
|---|---|
| SC, ST and OBC of Uttarakhand | 5 years |
| Dependants of freedom fighters of Uttarakhand | 5 years |
| Persons with disabilities of Uttarakhand | 10 years |
| Ex-servicemen of Uttarakhand | Service period deducted from actual age; the result must not exceed the limit by more than 3 years |
Reservation rules in brief
- Vertical reservation (SC, ST, OBC, EWS) is only for Uttarakhand domiciles. Therefore, others can apply only as unreserved candidates.
- Horizontal reservation covers Uttarakhand women, Rajya Andolankari and their dependants (10%), ex-servicemen (5%), dependants of freedom fighters (2%), persons with disabilities, orphans and skilled sportspersons.
- For disability reservation, however, you need at least 40% disability in an identified category.
- You must claim the category in the online form. Also, the certificate must be valid on the last date of the form. An OBC certificate is valid for three years from its issue date.
- Moreover, if you qualify for more than one sub-category, you get the benefit of only one, the most useful to you.
Application fee
| Category | Total fee |
|---|---|
| Unreserved | ₹166.36 (₹150 + ₹16.36 processing) |
| Uttarakhand EWS | ₹166.36 |
| Uttarakhand OBC | ₹166.36 |
| Uttarakhand SC | ₹76.36 (₹60 + ₹16.36 processing) |
| Uttarakhand ST | ₹76.36 |
| Uttarakhand persons with disabilities (identified categories) | ₹76.36 |
| Orphans living in voluntary or government homes in Uttarakhand | Nil |
Women, ex-servicemen, sportspersons and Rajya Andolankari pay the fee of their own vertical category. Furthermore, you can pay only online, and the fee is not refundable.
UKPSC Lower PCS exam pattern 2026
In short, selection happens in three stages: prelims, mains and interview. The pattern below comes from Appendix 2 of the UKPSC Lower PCS notification. For the topic-wise syllabus, see our UKPSC Lower PCS syllabus page.
Prelims (objective)
| Paper | Questions | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| General Studies and General Aptitude Test | 150 (Part 1 GS: 100; Part 2 Aptitude: 50) | 150 | 2 hours |
- Each wrong answer costs one-fourth of the marks for that question. Marking two or more options also counts as wrong.
- However, an unanswered question carries no penalty.
- If a question has an error, the English version is final.
- Also, calculators are not allowed.
- Finally, prelims marks are not added to the final merit.
Mains (descriptive)
| Paper | Subject (questions) | Marks | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| I | General Hindi (6) | 100 | 2 hrs |
| II | Essay (2) | 100 | 2 hrs |
| III | General Studies – First Paper (20) | 200 | 3 hrs |
| IV | General Studies – Second Paper (20) | 200 | 3 hrs |
| Total | 600 |
You must score at least 35% in General Hindi. Then comes the interview of 75 marks. Finally, the merit list uses the mains and interview marks only, that is, 675 marks in all.
Minimum qualifying marks
Appendix 7 fixes a minimum percentage for each stage. So, a candidate below it is not considered for merit, even if seats remain.
| Category | Prelims | Mains | Final* |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unreserved | 35% | 40% | 45% |
| OBC | 30% | 35% | 40% |
| EWS | 30% | 35% | 40% |
| SC / ST | 25% | 30% | 35% |
| Dependants of freedom fighters | 25% | 30% | 35% |
| Persons with disabilities | 20% | 25% | 30% |
| Ex-servicemen | 25% | 30% | 35% |
*Final means the mains and interview marks taken together. Sub-categories such as women follow the percentage of their parent category.
Exam centres
First, you choose a prelims city in the online form. For this, the Commission proposes these 19 cities: Almora, Ranikhet, Bageshwar, Champawat, Haldwani, Pithoragarh, Rudrapur, Khatima, Dehradun, Rishikesh, Haridwar, Roorkee, Tehri Garhwal, Uttarkashi, Chamoli, Pauri Garhwal, Srinagar, Kotdwar and Rudraprayag.
However, the list may change with the number of applicants. Later, the mains will take place only at Haldwani and Haridwar.
How to apply for the UKPSC Lower PCS notification 2026
- Go to pscuk.net.in and click How to Apply. Read the advertisement details, then click Apply Now.
- Fill the registration form, create a password and submit. You will then get a message on your mobile number and email.
- Log in. Next, add your High School, Intermediate and graduation details one by one.
- Upload your photo and signature, and tick the declaration.
- Check every entry. After that, click Final Submit and pay the fee online.
- Finally, print the application form and keep it safe. You will need it at document verification.
- Before final submission, you can fix errors with Back & Edit. After it, only the December correction window can fix them.
- The mobile number and email cannot be changed after registration. So, use your own.
- Similarly, if you cancel an application and apply again, you must pay the fee again.
- Also, employees of central or state government must inform their employer before applying, and later show a no-objection certificate.
- Lastly, for technical problems, email ukpschelpline@gmail.com.
Correction window (3 to 12 December 2026)
Note that the edit link opens only once. In it, you can correct your name, date of birth, category, sub-category, gender and other details. However, the mobile number and email stay locked. If you change your category, you pay the fee of the new category as the advertisement lays down. After 12 December, the Commission will not accept any request to change the form.
Answer key and objections
After the prelims, UKPSC invites objections online in two stages. First, it publishes the A-series question paper after the exam. Within 7 days, you can object to the structure of questions and options free of cost. Then, it publishes the provisional answer key. Within 7 days of that, you can object to answers at ₹50 per question. After expert review, the final key comes out with the result.
How to prepare in the time left
If the prelims stays on 27 December, you have about seven weeks. Also, the Upper PCS prelims falls on 29 November. So, many students will sit both papers. Since the General Studies part overlaps heavily, one revision plan covers most of it.
- Uttarakhand first: history, culture, geography, polity and economy of the State carry a large share of Part 1. Our Uttarakhand polity notes and Uttarakhand GK pages are free.
- Previous papers: solve the Lower PCS 2025 prelims paper and the older Lower PCS previous year papers under time.
- Current affairs: revise one full year of Uttarakhand and national news. SAMVEG SAAR puts it in two PDFs.
- Aptitude: Part 2 carries 50 marks. So, practise reasoning and number series a little every day.
- Strategy: read the Lower PCS preparation strategy drawn from our toppers.
SAMVEG SAAR · CURRENT AFFAIRS 2026
Current affairs for Lower PCS 2026 in one place
Two exam-ready PDFs: Uttarakhand and National & International current affairs 2026, in English or Hindi. Read a free sample first.
SAMVEG PRACTICE · FREE
25 new questions every day
Daily practice in Hindi and English with solutions and a leaderboard. You can also solve a full previous year paper online.
Coaching for Lower PCS 2026
Prelims revision, mains answer writing and interview guidance for Lower PCS at Samveg IAS, Dehradun. Classroom and online.
Frequently asked questions
UKPSC has advertised 54 posts across eight posts: Naib Tehsildar (13), Excise Inspector (4), Supply Inspector (2), Marketing Inspector (20), Labour Enforcement Officer (5), Tax Officer Zila Panchayat (5), Senior Cane Development Inspector (1) and Cane Development Inspector (4).
The last date to apply and pay the fee is 26 November 2026, till 11:59:59 PM. The correction window runs from 3 to 12 December 2026.
The advertisement does not state the exam date. However, the UKPSC exam calendar of 1 September 2026 proposes 27 December 2026 for the Lower PCS 2026 prelims. Confirm it on the admit card.
The age limit is 21 to 42 years on 1 July 2026. SC, ST and OBC candidates of Uttarakhand get 5 years of relaxation, and persons with disabilities of Uttarakhand get 10 years.
Graduation from a recognised university is enough for six posts. The Senior Cane Development Inspector and Cane Development Inspector posts need a graduation in agriculture.
Yes. After the mains, qualified candidates face a personality test (interview) of 75 marks. The final merit uses the mains (600 marks) and interview (75 marks) together.
The prelims has 150 marks but only screens candidates. The final merit is out of 675 marks: 600 for the four mains papers and 75 for the interview.
The total fee is ₹166.36 for unreserved, OBC and EWS candidates, and ₹76.36 for SC, ST and disabled candidates of Uttarakhand. Orphans living in State homes pay nothing.
Lower PCS 2026 ka online form 26 November 2026 ki raat 11:59:59 baje tak bhara ja sakta hai. Galti sudhaarne ka mauka 3 se 12 December 2026 tak milega.
No. The 2026 advertisement does not include Deputy Jailer. Lower PCS 2024 had 14 Deputy Jailer posts.
Source: UKPSC Advertisement No. A-1/E-2/DR/LSS/2026-27 and Notice No. 235/03/E-2/DR/LSS/2026-27, both dated 6 November 2026. Always confirm details on psc.uk.gov.in.
